Skip to content

Favorite Resources of 2009-2010

July 20, 2010

Each year, in addition to working with beloved and brilliant colleagues, I have a stack of go to professional resources that push my teaching forward.

I. love. teacher books. Adore them.  I credit this to my year of student teaching when I discovered In the Company of Children by Joanne Hindley. I am still over-thankful that I found this book at the beginning of my career. It showed me a world of education I wished to be true, but hadn’t seen. At least not yet. It led to me finding the Teachers College Reading and Writing Project  which then led me to a new home and life in New York.  (Reading changes lives. Period.)

Anyway, my relationship with professional literature has ebbed and flowed, but this year was particularly powerful. I find when things get hard, or I feel I’m loosing my creativity or vision, I can turn to others who have gone before me. I open their pages and soon, I’ve gained new perspective, discovered new ideas, and been encouraged to keep going!

Below you will find a few titles that became my GO TO texts.  Click on the book for a short description.

Choice Words can be ordered at Stenhouse.  Click here to order any of the other books at Heinemann.

Happy reading!

What are some of YOUR favorites? Please share!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 10:25 pm

    hello Blog. I like.

  2. July 20, 2010 11:28 pm

    You mentioned some incredible titles here. I’ve read them all except for the Ehrenworth book (gotta get that one).

    A few other writing-related favorites:
    Buckner’s Notebook Know-How
    Cruz’s Independent Writing
    Heard’s The Revision Toolbox

    • July 21, 2010 12:15 am

      Stacey! Hi! yeah, i haven’t read Catching up on Conventions either, but some colleagues of mine swear by it. I loved the ones you mentioned. Georgia Heard is like Katherine. No matter what they write, you know it’s going to lift your teaching.

      I haven’t heard of the Notebook Know-How. I’ll have to check it out. THanks!!

Leave a Reply

