Skip to content

Inquiry Circles… “because 1st Graders can Change the World!”

August 23, 2010

Stephanie Harvey and Cory Gillette recently rocked my NF reading world and I am excited to say I have typed a teensy portion of this brilliance up. Go to town, teachers. All five of you who read this. 🙂    More to follow. Just wait ’till you read about the Strands.. oh, the lovely Strands.

CLICK HERE Stephanie Harvey Inquiry Circles Note: These notes cover the beginning stages of the Inq. Circles. More info to come as I read/learn/ think through how the process may unfold.

I worked for 7 hours in my new classroom today and I think I’m getting sick and maybe delirious… but you should know these strands are gonna change your life. Get ready.

Goodnight,  friends.

http://www.comprehensiontoolkit.com/samples.asp#

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy B permalink
    August 24, 2010 6:07 am

    Ah…..keep it coming, Lindsay! You know, we KNOW these components are right and work…it’s just so nice to have this thinking in one place and in an organized manner…AND, the reasoning behind it! I love when researchers, developers and gurus confirm what we see already working in the classroom. This gives me more ammunition to pursue using these components, groupings and strategies even more! Can’t wait to hear the “rest of the story.”

  2. August 24, 2010 1:32 pm

    Cindy, you should have seen this video of first graders presenting their findings to their class. It was the cutest thing ever. And quite miraculous. They had such ownership over their topics… and Stephanie went on to say how important this work is in upper grades, too. If you guys (who am I kidding, if Ya’ll) do this work, please send along any information! I hope your year has gotten off to a great start!
    love!!

Leave a Reply

